Skip Navigation


Frequently Asked Questions

What are the changes to PRP that could affect me?

FEMA announced on May 21, 2010, a revision in its PRP eligibility rules under the NFIP.

Buildings that were newly mapped into an SFHA due to a map revision on or after October 1, 2008, and before January 1, 2011, are eligible for a PRP for two policy years, between January 1, 2011, and December 31, 2012.

Buildings that will be mapped from a non-SFHA to a SFHA due to a map revision on or after January 1, 2011, will be eligible for a PRP for two policy years following the effective date of the map revision.

Buildings meeting the above requirements must also meet the PRP loss history requirements. If there are two claims or disaster relief payments for flood of $1,000 or more, or three losses of any amount, the structure is ineligible for the PRP.

At the end of the extended eligibility period, policies on these buildings must be written as standard-rated policies.

Back to Frequently Asked Questions: Preferred Risk Policy (PRP) Eligibility Extension


For flood insurance rating purposes, a primary residence is a building that will be lived in by the insured or the insured's spouse for at least 80 percent of the 365 days following the policy effective date. If the building will be lived in for less than 80 percent of the policy year, it is considered to be a non-primary residence.

How Can I get Covered?

  • Rate your risk
  • Estimate your premiums
  • Find an agent

Contact Us | Site Map | Help | NFIP
Change font size
Last Updated: Sunday, 13-Apr-2014, 4:35 PM (EDT)

500 C Street SW, Washington, D.C. 20472
Disaster Assistance: (800) 621-FEMA, TTY (800) 462-7585
U.S. Department of Homeland Security
FEMA Home | Contact FEMA | Privacy Policy | Important Notices | FOIA | | DHS | Agent Site | Accessibility