Skip to Main Content


Frequently Asked Questions

Why aren't policyholders with properties included in SFHAs before October 1, 2008, eligible for the extension?

This eligibility extension was developed as a response to the large number of very recent map changes due to a federally mandated map modernization, and the increasing difference in premiums that evolved over time between the standard-rated policy and the PRP, which made it more difficult for property owners to transition to the higher premium standard-rated policy.

Back to Frequently Asked Questions: Preferred Risk Policy (PRP) Eligibility Extension


For flood insurance rating purposes, a primary residence is a building that will be lived in by the insured or the insured's spouse for at least 80 percent of the 365 days following the policy effective date. If the building will be lived in for less than 80 percent of the policy year, it is considered to be a non-primary residence.

How Can I get Covered?

  • Rate your risk
  • Estimate your premiums
  • Find an agent

Contact Us | Site Map | Help | NFIP
Change font size
Last Updated: Tuesday, 21-Apr-2015, 1:44 PM (EDT)

500 C Street SW, Washington, D.C. 20472
Disaster Assistance: (800) 621-FEMA, TTY (800) 462-7585
U.S. Department of Homeland Security
FEMA Home | Contact FEMA | Privacy Policy | Required Notices | FOIA | | DHS | Agent Site | Accessibility